We hope you enjoy reading about each of our Governors. Unless stated otherwise, governors have not declared any business, governorship or relationship interests.

Name Role Appointed by Term of office
Ms Jean Holderness Chair of Governors ODST 13.05.20. – 12.05.24.
Reverend Margreet Armitstead Foundation Governor ODST 07.07.16. – 06.07.24.
Hayley Knight Staff Governor Staff 23.11.22 – 22 11.26.
Mrs Jane Denby Skills Governor and Vice Chair of Governors ODST 21.03.19. – 20.04.25.
Vacancy Parent Governor Please contact the office to apply
Mr Andrew Hall Co-opted Governor ODST 10.03.22. – 09.03.24.
Mr Charlie Kerr Foundation Governor ODST 06.10.21. – 05.10.25.
Mrs Linda Raabe-Marjot Foundation Governor ODST 10.03.22. – 09.03.26.
Ms Katie Screaton Executive Headteacher Appointed 24 Apr 2017
Mrs Charlene Sina Parent Governor Parent Election 25.01.22. – 24.01.26.
Jess Broome Associate Member & SENDCO 15.05.2023 to 14.05.2027.
Mrs Linsey Jones Clerk to the Governors
Elena Rundle Co-Opted Governor   13.06.22 – 12.09.23 (resigned)
Lucian Dunlop Parent Governor   25.01.22 – 22.11.22 (resigned)


Governance Structure

Our Governors provide strategic leadership and accountability in our school. Governors appoint the Head of School and the Assitant Headteachers. The Executive Headteacher was appointed by the Governors and ODST. It is governors who hold senior leaders to account for the performance of the school and, working with the Headteacher, make the tough decisions about balancing resources.

ODST has a Board of Trustees which oversees the work of the Trust including the effectiveness of Local Governing Bodies.

Our Local Governing Body meets up to six times a year. Every governor attends these meetings and may also be a member of our sub-committee, which meet circa five times a year.

The Resources Committee ensures that the school uses its resources to achieve best value, thereby supporting the learning of all our students. This Committee is also responsible for Health and Safety, Premises and Staffing.

The Resources Committee comprises:

  • Jean Holderness
  • Jane Denby – Chair
  • Rev. Margreet Armitstead
  • Andrew Hall
  • Linda Raabe-Marjot
  • Rev. Charlie Kerr
  • Katie Screaton – Headteacher
  • Sam Rhodes [School Business Manager] in attendance

Please see the attendance record below.

If you are interested in becoming a Governor of John Henry Newman Academy, please come in and see us by making an appointment with the School Office. Please also see The ODST website for more information on becoming a school Governor.

If you would like to contact the Chair of Governors please email: office.2000@jhnacademy.co.uk or j.holderness@jhnacademy.co.uk or call 01865 772495. Letters should be directed to:

The Chair of Governors, John Henry Newman Academy, Grange Road, Littlemore, Oxford, OX4 4LS


Governor Meeting attendance 2022-23

Loader Loading...
EAD Logo Taking too long?

Reload Reload document
| Open Open in new tab